Babb's bridge is the oldest and shortest covered bridge in Maine. It was covered in order to prolong the life of the bridge and its timbers from the weather and ease the horses fears of crossing the fast flowing river.
Built near Babb's Farm, the bridge was built over the Presumpscott River, a river which journeys from Sebago Lake to the sea, naturally dividing the towns of Gorham and Windham.
From the Windham Historical Society:
Originally built in 1840, this unique bridge connects the towns of Windham and Gorham. It has been known by many names but the most common is Babb's Bridge, so-called for a family who once lived nearby. When it was destroyed by arson on May 6, 1973, it was the oldest of only 10 remaining covered bridges in Maine. Historical societies of Gorham and Windham joined together to rebuild the bridge. At the urging of the societies and citizens, Maine Department of Transportation agreed to build an exact replica. Volunteers from many areas and organizations helped accomplish this project and the bridge was dedicated on July 4, 1976 as part of the Bicentennial of the United States.